The Standards have been developed to support all hospice services to deliver consistent and best quality palliative and end of life care for people regardless of locality and diagnosis.

In May 2019 we launched the fourth version of the Hospice NZ Standards after an extensive consultation and review process involving all hospices services in New Zealand.

There are 9 Standards covering things such as assessment of needs, grief support and bereavement care and culture within an organisation.  The vision for the Standards is that they support hospice services continuous quality improvement approach to service planning.  In the first instance they are written solely for hospice palliative care providers, the longer term vision is that other providers of palliative care across many settings will adopt or use the Standards.

You can click here to view the Standards for Palliative Care 2019.

You can download a copy here.

Please contact us if you would like further information.

Log in with your credentials


Forgot your details?

Create Account